The Marathon Ermias Ran: eulogy from a stranger

As a young Eritrean American in the US I was always looking for myself. The first time I remember seeing myself – in the media – was upon learning of south LA native and rapper, Nipsey Hussle born Ermias Ashgedom. On the surface nothing connected him to me. I was growing up in the suburbs of Minnesota watching tv and mindlessly going about my life. Nipsey Hussle was a South LA native growing up in the Crenshaw neighborhood hustling and grinding to become something great. But upon discovering his father being Eritrean I had an unquestionable pride in someone who was a complete stranger to me and I to him. All I needed to know was he was Eritrean because I knew – if anything about Eritreans, that we are proud people. He put Eritrea on the social cultural map and used the history as a building block for his identity and life’s work.

“More than anything I am proud of being Eritrean. The history of our country, our struggle and the underdog story, the resilience of the people and our integrity is something that I feel pride in being attached to. Most definitely I do remain closely in touch with our history and our people.”- Nipsey Hussle

He openly talked about his experiences, not all which were objectively good. This is where I’ve seen a need for nuance in the conversation that has surrounded Nipsey Hussle on the internet following his murder. Too nuanced for me to detail.

It is, though, undeniable that Nipsey Hussle walked the walk. He lived by the principles he rapped and spoke about. He got on – then tried to put his community and people on with his access and resources. He understood the importance of building our community for each other. He brought visibility to a community often over looked.

He lived his life the way we all should. Purposeful and never giving up on our personal marathons.

“I’m about seeing long-term, seeing a vision, understanding nothing really worthwhile happens overnight, and just sticking to your script long enough to make something real happen.”- Nipsey Hussle

And while he isn’t alive to get the flowers he deserves, his legacy will live on to remind us – any moment can be our last, but if we spend our moments supporting each other and striving for what we want, these moments will add up to a life well lived, like Nipsey’s.

So while I never met or knew Nipsey Hussle – outside of the media, I’m proud of what he stood for and who he stood for.

May his marathon continue through us.

With gratitude,

An Inspired lil Eritrean Gual

Leave a comment